Skip to content

Hour 1 Complete!

April 9, 2011

My lack of sleep is already a problem. I started falling asleep around 8:30 and had to grab a trail mix bar and get into a less comfy position!

Now for some mini-challenges…

Introduction Challenge

1)Where are you reading from today?

Toledo, Ohio


2)Three random facts about me…

1. Yesterday I submitted my thesis for my master’s degree in biology (I studied environmental microbiology).

2. I have 8 cats…none of which I intentionally purchase…they just needed homes. Three of them are siblings (just over a year old) and their mom lives with us too.

3. I’m a gamer…dungeons and dragons, board games, console games, computer games, card games…I’m there.

3)How many books do you have in your TBR pile for the next 24 hours?

12

4)Do you have any goals for the read-a-thon (i.e. number of books, number of pages, number of hours, or number of comments on blogs)?

Read a lot! I know…vague. It’s my first marathon and I usually don’t read for more than an hour or so at a time. So spending a whole day dedicated to reading, no matter how much I get done, will be considered a success.

5)If you’re a veteran read-a-thoner, any advice for people doing this for the first time?

I’m a newbie!

I also completed the second mini-challenge which involved pinning your location on a map!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Meghan permalink
    April 9, 2011 9:35 am

    Yay for challenges =) I didn’t realize that you didn’t intentionally purchase Lefty and Whisket. I love all of your cats!

    • opicana permalink
      April 9, 2011 10:01 am

      Yep. Lefty was my step-dad’s and Whisket came from a friend’s cat who had kittens. 🙂

  2. Meghan permalink
    April 9, 2011 9:36 am

    Oh yeah, and I’m sorry you had to get in a less comfortable position =\ I know that wasn’t one of your goals!

  3. April 9, 2011 9:54 am

    Best wishes! I hope you get in some great reading. 🙂

  4. April 9, 2011 10:36 am

    Welcome to the crazy world that is 24-Hour Readathon! My advice? Don’t get too obsessed by how much everyone else is reading. The first couple of times I did one, I was completely dejected by not reading 100 pages an hour like some people did. But that’s not how fast I ever read. Then I got frustrated by how much time I did or did not spend on other blogs or with the mini-challenges. But I’ve got a pretty good balance how. I try to average about 15 minutes of every hour on the computer and to take breaks whenever the reading starts to feel like work. It’s still supposed to be fun, after all!

    • opicana permalink
      April 9, 2011 11:11 am

      Thanks for the welcome and advice, Lisa! Sound like wise words!

Leave a comment