Skip to content

Preparation for the Readathon!

April 8, 2011

Tomorrow (Saturday) I will be participating in my first readathon! You can find more info over at Dewey’s Readathon.

I’m planning on waking up at 7:30am, so I have time to shower and get settled before it starts. At 8am, I will begin reading and I will continue reading until 8am on Sunday….or when I fall asleep (probably the latter!).

I will take a break each hour to: make a very quick update on my blog, check for mini-challenges at Dewey’s site (you can win prizes!), eat or use the restroom as needed, and of course, to check on the Mafia game I’m moderating.

I have a stack of books prepared…no, I don’t plan on reading them all…in fact, I probably wouldn’t be able to finish the whole Cairo Trilogy even if I read it the whole time! My idea is to have a stack with enough variety that I can find something for whatever mood I’m in. I have some easy reads, and some classics…okay, they are mostly easy reads. 😉 I just walked around the house and grabbed collected all the books I’ve been meaning to read recently.

Here’s the stack:

Books for my Global Challenge

The Cairo Trilogy by Naguib Mahfouz

Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez

Young Adult

Graceling by Kristin Cashore

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

Crime Novels

The Girl who Played with Fire by Stieg Larson

Naked Heat by Rick Castle

Agatha Subset

The Murder on the Links by Agatha Christie

Murder at the Vicarage by Agatha Christie

Death on the Nile by Agatha Christie

D&D (Eberron) Novels

The Queen of Stone by Keith Baker (my current read)

Storm Dragon by James Wyatt

Other

Saturday by Ian McEwan

 

My helpers:

Can’t wait for tomorrow! I finally submitted my completed thesis a couple hours ago…so I’m “walking out of the tunnel”…Huzzah. It feels very weird.

Check back tomorrow for frequent reading updates! And feel free to comment on the posts tomorrow with a spot of encouragement.

Now…to wash my comfiest clothes…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

