Skip to content

Book Challenge Update: New Page

January 21, 2011

I’ve added a new page :::points up::: that is dedicated to my current book challenges. Right now, there is just the one, but expect more to be posted *very* shortly!

So far, I have ordered two of the books for my Global Reading challenge, and I am very excited to read them. The Cairo Trilogy and Love in the Time of Cholera.

Still looking for suggestions for my other continents! I planned to do a Canadian novel or a Mexican novel for the NA part of the challenge. I’m favoring novels where both the author and the setting are from that continent. For Europe, I’d like to do something that wasn’t UK since I’m currently on an Agatha Christie kick. I’m thinking more eastern European would be an interesting change for me.

I’m also going to do the 50 Book Challenge….which is just read 50 books this year. 🙂 I’ve read 2 so far, both Agatha Christie ( I ❤ Poirot). Next I am going to be reading Fisherman’s Bend…crime novel + fishermen = woohoo. In case you didn’t know I have this thing for fishermen…not like a “they’re hot” thing…it is more of a fascination with the maritime lifestyle, the work ethic, the small fishing town vibe…I find it moving how much passion is involved. It’s okay, you can call me crazy. :p I love the song “Downeaster Alexa” by Billy Joel. It is one of my favorite songs, and I think it is what started this fascination.

Well I’m on the Downeaster “Alexa”
And I’m cruising through Block Island Sound
I have charted a course to the Vineyard
But tonight I am Nantucket bound

We took on diesel back in Montauk yesterday
And left this morning from the bell in Gardiner’s Bay
Like all the locals here I’ve had to sell my home
Too proud to leave I worked my fingers to the bone

So I could own my Downeaster “Alexa”
And I go where the ocean is deep
There are giants out there in the canyons
And a good captain can’t fall asleep

I’ve got bills to pay and children who need clothes
I know there’s fish out there but where God only knows
They say these waters aren’t what they used to be
But I’ve got people back on land who count on me

So if you see my Downeaster “Alexa”
And if you work with the rod and the reel
Tell my wife I am trawling Atlantis
And I still have my hands on the wheel

Now I drive my Downeaster “Alexa”
More and more miles from shore every year
Since they tell me I can’t sell no stripers
And there’s no luck in swordfishing here.

I was a bayman like my father was before
Can’t make a living as a bayman anymore
There ain’t much future for a man who works the sea
But there ain’t no island left for islanders like me

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 21, 2011 11:29 pm

    Well, I said I wasn’t, but then I thought about it and decided I would. I was going to read 8 books on my list this year anyway, so a couple of those will probably count toward this challenge anyway. I, too, have chosen Love in the Time of Cholera for South America; its been in my stack of books beside my bed for 6 months now. Let me know if you get any good recommendations from Asia, Africa, or Australasia!

Leave a Reply

