Skip to content

I lost 5 pounds…

August 29, 2010

…worth of hair.

I finally chopped it all off….well, I did so a few weeks ago, but I haven’t had the time to post about it yet.

My hair grows quickly, and it is quite thick. So I grew it out to donate, for the second time.

Locks of Love is the organization I choose to donate my hair to. Here is what they are about, according to their website:

“Locks of Love is a public non-profit organization that provides hairpieces to financially disadvantaged children in the United States and Canada under age 21 suffering from long-term medical hair loss from any diagnosis. We meet a unique need for children by using donated hair to create the highest quality hair prosthetics. Most of the children helped by Locks of Love have lost their hair due to a medical condition called alopecia areata, which has no known cause or cure. The prostheses we provide help to restore their self-esteem and their confidence, enabling them to face the world and their peers.”

Here is there mission statement:

“Our mission is to return a sense of self, confidence and normalcy to children suffering from hair loss by utilizing donated ponytails to provide the highest quality hair prosthetics to financially disadvantaged children. The children receive hair prostheses free of charge or on a sliding scale, based on financial need.”

You can read the guidelines for donating here: http://www.locksoflove.org/donate.html. They are pretty simple…they need at least 10 inches- the more the merrier though! And you CAN donate treated hair- the only kind that is not usable is when the process involves bleach (so highlighted hair is out; but just colored or permed is okay!).

I highly encourage you to consider this next time you plan on getting a cut!

Here is a before shot of my hair- the morning before the cut!

Here we go!!!

Snip, snip!!!

And it’s gone…

It is longer than it looks, I think, it measures 32+ inches…

And afterward…these were taken tonight.

My hair is in a plastic baggy, and it will be mailed out tomorrow. And we start the process all over again. 😉

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Billie permalink
    August 30, 2010 12:40 pm

    holy hell your hair got long

    • opicana permalink
      September 3, 2010 5:20 pm

      Yeah, it did…lol.

  2. August 31, 2010 12:31 am

    Impressive!! I do not have the patience to grow my hair out that long!

    • opicana permalink
      September 3, 2010 5:22 pm

      Thanks! It is more like I am too lazy to get it cut. 😉

Leave a Reply

