Skip to content

Safe Cosmetics Act (or how the government doesn’t want me to make soap)

July 31, 2010

As many of you know, I am hoping to start up a soap-making business in the next couple years. Just a small venture with its true purpose being to pay for my addiction to soap-crafting. 🙂

However, my little dream may crumble before I even get started thanks to the “Safe Cosmetics Act”. Essentially, some folks in the government want to apply really strict regulations that only larger companies will be able to afford to comply with. No more SAHMs making soap to sell at the farmer’s markets.

You can read more about it here:  http://soap-queen.blogspot.com/2010/07/safe-cosmetics-act-not-so-safe-for_24.html

I’m going to write my representative, Marcy Kaptur to share my dislike of this new bill. Considering the number of farmer’s markets, fairs and festivals in Ohio, hopefully she will be smart about this.

Since my thesis has fried my brain, however, I don’t quite feel competent to write a letter from scratch, so I am customizing the one Soap Queen provided.

Dear Marcy Kaptur,

I am writing to express my concerns about H.R. 5786, the ‘Safe Cosmetics Act’. I make soaps, lip balms, and similar items and I’d like to start up my own business next year. I’ve spent this year dedicated to practicing my craft and testing my soaps on family and friends to ensure their safety. My business will  make less than $5000 per year, and way less when I first begin. I am a graduate student in microbiology, and this will help me afford my education. I make my soaps and lotions with common ingredients that you can find in your kitchen. H.R. 5786 has a bunch of extra reporting requirements that would be virtually impossible for me to comply with. I’m just one woman in a kitchen. I don’t have a huge staff to help me. Plus, I will often change my formulations based on the season and what my customers are asking for. Being nimble is a huge advantage for me and if I have to submit a new safety and ingredient affidavit for every product, that will take away one of my key advantages. Please don’t support this legislation. It is well-meaning but is written in such a way that I won’t be able to start a business because I won’t be able to keep up. This legislation will hurt Ohio families who sell at farmer’s markets and food festivals in the summer. And it will hurt customers who want to buy quality soap from all natural ingredients, and not the chemicals they fill commercial soap with. Estee Lauder started at her kitchen table. Please don’t take that opportunity away from me.

Sincerely,

Kara Lindelof

Toledo, Ohio

Huh, I actually changed a lot of it. Good enough. If anyone else cares about being able to buy homemade soaps and similar items, please help spread the word.

Thanks!

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 1, 2010 9:58 am

    Thank you for taking action! There are many advocates on your behalf that are working to make sure that this proposed legislation does NOT decimate small business. There is a long way to go before it’s even close to becoming a bill so don’t lose hope. We can make this work for everyone =)

Leave a Reply

