Skip to content

25 Things I Love About Ohio

July 30, 2010

If you know Jimmy, then you know one of his favorite topics is complaining about Toledo, about Ohio, and how different living out here is compared to home.

I’m not much better…I think I am a bit more accepting of Ohio, but I’m not going to lie….New England is better.

However, I prefer to be positive and optimistic about life. So, I’m determined to come up with a list of 25 reasons why I am glad we are living out here. Let’s see how far I can get right now:

1) My Friends- My favorite part of Toledo is who I have met out here. While many of them are not from Toledo, or even Ohio, I still would never have met them if we didn’t live here. My D&D Crew is awesome…Brad, Carl, Mike, Erica, Meghan…you are all awesome. And I can’t forget Melk, of course, despite the fact he no longer plays with us. Hilary is also awesome- and introduced me to soap-crafting! And I am also glad I have met Lindsey, Jessica, Danielle and Patty. There are many other acquaintances I have made and I am grateful to have met all of them. So don’t feel bad if I didn’t name you…I can’t list everyone!

2) My House- I love my house, and thanks to Ohio’s cheaper cost of living, we were able to afford a decent sized house. I have friends back home who pay the same amount in rent for small apartments. I have 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom home, in a lovely neighborhood and its dirt cheap, imo.

3) Dixee, Harree, Meredith and the kittens- I wouldn’t have the majority of my babies if we didn’t live out here. I love all of my kitties dearly, and I am glad things happened the way they did.

4) The Metropark System- Okay, so its not like being in the White Mountains or anything…but I love the metropark system. It’s huge, well maintained, and such a wonderful resource. I think people out here often take it for granted. It is a gorgeous setup and I wish there was something this nice back home.

5) The Grid- I love living in a city where the streets are wide, well-labeled, and run in a grid pattern. Toledo is so much easier to navigate than Boston, Providence, or New Bedford.

6) The Great Lakes- I’m proud to live on the Great Lakes, even if I live on the crappiest of them (imo).

7) Monette’s Market- Cheap, quality produce. Yum.

8) The Toledo Zoo- It’s wonderful to have such a nice, large zoo so close! I love my zoo!!!

9) Big Butter Jesus- This is a *Ohio* list, so he totally counts. Yes, he was burned to the ground recently, but I think just knowing he existed made my life a little better. It certainly gave me a lot of laughs.

10) Experience- Thanks to living out here, I have had the opportunity to work for NOAA, and the Ohio Department of Natural Resources. I know how to cut open a fish and determine what it had for dinner. I know what Daphnia and Copepods look like under a microscope.

I think I’m going to have to stop at 10 for now. If you have any suggestions, let me know.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 30, 2010 9:55 pm

    Whats the gaming scene like there?

    • opicana permalink
      July 30, 2010 10:33 pm

      Don’t really know. I confine myself to games with friends in my house…so I just made a group out the people we met at the University. We had gaming store pretty close, but it went out of business like a year ago. 😦

  2. Mike permalink
    July 31, 2010 3:54 pm

    You may say Erie is the crappiest great lake, but I think Ontario holds that honor. Remember, all the shit that’s in Erie goes over the falls into Ontario!

    To add to your list:
    The free art museum.
    Best minor league ballpark in the country.
    Yummy lebanese food.
    The summer festivals. In fact, we’re going to see the Gin Blossoms at the ribfest tonight.

    mes

    • opicana permalink
      July 31, 2010 4:33 pm

      I’ve never actually been to Lake Ontario, so that wasn’t in my mind. I was thinking of Huron, Michigan and Superior (which is superior, imo).

      I hate baseball and Lebanese food is actually on my list of reasons I don’t like Toledo. :p Perhaps if I could get Mediterranean food that didn’t have a Lebanese influence, I wouldn’t mind so much…

      Yeah, I’m cranky that I have to be finishing up writing tonight, cause I love the Gin Blossoms! But what I don’t like about festivals around here is that you have to pay to enter so many of them, not all, but definitely more often then where I am from. And there are tons of festivals and fairs around the Cape…so, I don’t know if that quite makes the list.

Leave a Reply

