Skip to content

I’m Alive

July 14, 2010

Well, I’m still alive…

I feel like I am so far behind in my blog that I don’t even know what to talk about anymore….other than…I hate scientific writing, but you probably already know that. I love doing the labwork and I like analyzing the results…and I don’t even mind giving presentations or writing abstracts and proposals, even. But I hate, hate, hate thesis and journal writing. I don’t know why. It’s just so overwhelming.

In other news…

Kittens are just over 3 months old now! They are so big! They are fully-functioning individuals now and no longer dependent on mom. The three kittens are named after 3 of Gordon Lightfoot’s children…Yes, strange, I know. I mean, I love his music, but I’m not an obsessed fan or anything. It’s actually a long story that involves a inside joke that we have now managed to carry out too far. But the names totally worked:

Fred: Fred has  a big head. He eats kitten food, human food, and still nurses from mom- he is just a little piggy! When he falls asleep- which can be anywhere and at anytime mind you- he stays asleep. Seriously, you can pick up his paw and watch it drop back down and he won’t flinch. It’s crazy. I often have to check to make sure he is still breathing. Fred is also a bit, well, stupid. Now, doesn’t the name “Fred” seem to fit him? No offense to anyone named Fred, and certainly none to his namesake.

Melody: Little Miss Melody is the tiny little girl. She is very petite. She purrs like crazy and is so cuddly and affectionate. She is just a little angel. She has a favorite toy mouse that she carries around everywhere- adorable.

Miles: Trouble. Miles is the orange one (the other 2 are black). He is energetic and always getting into trouble. He has been that way since he was a baby. He was the first to step off the “nest” bed, the first to play in the litterbox, and the first to try kitten food. He is also the first when it comes to finding new and creative ways to rain chaos and destruction down upon my house.

I will post some pictures soon.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

