Skip to content

Why I haven’t responded to your e-mail/voicemail/fb message/comment…

July 3, 2010

For the last couple of weeks my life has been dedicated solely to my labwork, and then a bit of game-playing at night before bed, so I don’t go completely insane.

I’m going on vacation in August, but before I can go I need to have the 1st draft of my thesis completed. In order to do that, I need to have my labwork completed. My advisor and I agreed that the deadline for my labwork being completed should be July 1st. Personally, I was aiming for the end of the previous week, so that I had a few days to go over things with him and redo what I needed to.

This plan epically failed, despite my best efforts (longer days than usual, and I’m on 13th straight day without a day off) I STILL haven’t completed it. And we are pretty sure it isn’t my fault. The portion I am trying to complete is called DGGE (denaturing gradient gel electrophoresis)- a way of producing DNA fingerprints. The process essentially takes 24 hours. For a full day, I am in the lab prepping to run the gel, then it runs overnight (16 hours) and then I view it in the morning. So…each test I do takes a full day, plus some effort in the morning- a long time to wait to see if things worked.

Something is wrong…we aren’t sure if it is a reagent that is bad, or the equipment, but something is failing and causing bad gels.

The time that this has taken away from my daily life is immense…my house is a disaster, my e-mail is backed-up, Maine-planning has been put on hold, I haven’t cooked for days, and more recently, I’m pretty much on the verge of tears all the time.

It *has* to get done soon…I need to start writing…or I should have already started. I’m getting desperate.

Anyway, that is why if you have tried to contact me in someway, or were expecting me to contact you about Maine stuff, or whatever….I haven’t responded.

And I won’t for a few more days, probably. Sigh.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

