Skip to content

Friday Focus: #6

February 19, 2010

Friday Focus: Each Friday I roll a d100 to select a DZP task to “focus” on for the week. #101 is make a new list when I am done with this one, so we don’t bother with that one. If I’ve already completed the task- and written the “completed” entry, I will reroll. If I can’t actually directly work on or complete the task, I will at least start the planning.

This week: #6- Play 3 New RPG Systems

You can read more details about this goal here.

I’ve played 1 of the 3.

I’m working on #2. It’s been in progress for awhile, but we are finally going to be starting soon. I’m running a Firefly-themed play-by-email game which will use the Cinematic Unisystem rules- which I’ve never used before. Since this is my focus, I will work extra hard this week to get the game going.

Hmm…what should my 3rd system be?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Dan permalink
    March 3, 2010 12:15 am

    Hmm… If I’m going on the summer trip, I will run a FATE/Diaspora Scifi game, assuming enough players. Alternately, Shadowrun is doable.

    I’m totally jonesing for a FATE/Diaspora game: http://www.vsca.ca/Diaspora/diaspora-srd.html

    Just sayin’.

    I’m a total system-whore, and have a ton of things I *want* to run, but may never get to. My mind switches systems more often than players would like. 😦

  2. Dan permalink
    March 3, 2010 11:06 am

    Lesse, stuff that’s on my mind game-wise…

    I want to try another CoC/Delta Green game, but with the free, and supposedly very good ‘Nemesis’ system. Nemesis was actually written by the folks that made DG as an alternate system for it. Neat stuff.

    http://www.nemesis-system.com/downloads/nemesis/details.html

    I recently bought a copy of Diaspora, a sci-fi game using the ‘FATE’ system. The setting is created by the players as part of character creation. Each player creates a few systems in the cluster of stars that make up the setting. There’s a *ton* of cool stuff in it.

    SRD: http://www.vsca.ca/Diaspora/diaspora-srd.html
    Review: http://www.rpg.net/reviews/archive/14/14553.phtml

    There’s always Shadowrun, which recently got a new/better organized/much better looking Anniversary Edition.

    Paranoia is great for one-shots, Wild Talents is the first superhero RPG that actually got me interested enough that I’d actually want to play, uh…

    …yeah. Probably need to at least narrow it to a genre at least. 😮

  3. Dan permalink
    March 3, 2010 11:08 am

    …I totally forgot I made that first comment.

    Ahem. Move along!

Leave a Reply

