Skip to content

Sherlock Holmes: A Short Review

January 9, 2010

My Rating: B+

Despite my reservations about this movie, I went anyway. The previews and reviews don’t do the movie justice, in my opinion. They left me feeling that the movie was all action, and no mystery. That Holmes was more like a super-hero and less like the eccentric quirky insufferable git, that I have loved previously.

I’m happy to report the portrayal of Holmes is exceptional. The movie is NOT all action, and the fighting that does occur is done very well. Holmes & Watson fight with intelligence and, to me, it felt in character.

All the characters and acting are fabulous. The script is great, with some very funny moments. The setting is gorgeous.

The only down side is the plot. The plot concept has been overdone. The plot was weak and predictable. However, the acting and character chemistry more than compensates for this.

I would highly recommend seeing it, and very glad I did.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. taraSG permalink
    January 10, 2010 10:31 pm

    Perhaps I will go see this after all. Great review!! (Glad to have you back!!)

    • opicana permalink
      January 11, 2010 12:52 pm

      You should. I was very happy we made the last minute decision to see it.

      And thanks!

Leave a Reply

