Skip to content

Books on CD?

December 8, 2009
tags:

I’m looking for recommendations on good books on CD to get….or even better loan me a book on CD!

Because stupid Jimmy has a conference to go to in Washington DC, Harree and I will have to make the trek back to Toledo by ourselves after being home for the holidays. I get bored easily and will need something to keep me entertained…books on CDs seems to be the best option.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 8, 2009 10:36 pm

    I loved Eat, Love, Pray – Normally, I can’t pay attention enough to a book on tape, but that one i could. I have a few from audible for my ipod – i’ll try and put them on a cd tomorrow!

  2. December 8, 2009 10:37 pm

    And that would be Eat, Pray, Love…..I’m tired, can you tell?

  3. Erica permalink
    December 8, 2009 10:41 pm

    I’ve been listening to audiobooks on my drives back and forth to South Bend, and I give a thumbs up to your idea of getting some for your drive. Unfortunately I don’t have much to recommend as it’s still a new thing for me. I’ve been making use of the limited selection at the library, and the best thing I’ve listened to thus far was Terry Pratchett’s Thud. If you like biography, they seem to have a good selection, but I prefer fiction and the selection of that seems pretty limited.

    Also, is Jimmy going to the AAS meeting? You should tell him that I am jealous, it sounds like it’s going to be a great meeting.

    • opicana permalink
      December 10, 2009 2:36 pm

      Thanks, Erica. Yeah, I prefer fiction as well. I didn’t think to check out the library, maybe I should.

      Yeah, that is where Jimmy is going.

  4. Jen permalink
    December 9, 2009 11:04 am

    Have you tried http://www.librivox.org? They have tons of books and they are free to download. My husband and I listened to the first Tarzan on our drive from OK to PA. It was very entertaining. Dickens is also fun in the car.

    • opicana permalink
      December 10, 2009 2:36 pm

      Thanks, Jen! I will check it out.

  5. Billie permalink
    December 9, 2009 8:34 pm

    try most things by Sarah Vowell, she’s totally hilarious, assassination vacation is one of my favorites, wordy shipmates is the newest one. she’s the voice for the daughter in the Incredibles

    • opicana permalink
      December 10, 2009 2:37 pm

      Thanks! Hilarious is always a good thing, esp. when you are trying to stay awake!

Leave a Reply

