Skip to content

“And then there were none…”

November 21, 2009

 

Jimmy & I finished playing the Wii game based on the Agatha Christie novel “And Then There Were None…” last night. It is a “point & click” style mystery where you play a new-for-the-game character named ‘Patrick’ and gather clues to try to the solve the series of murders while stranded on an island with only a mansion and a couple ruined fishing villages.

For only $12.99 used- this game was fabulous. I have been so disappointed in non-nintendo Wii games (esp. cheap ones), and this was a welcome relief. I started out playing, but Jimmy ended up joining me. We were able to take turns with the remote and STILL have fun. I wasn’t bored while watching him play because I was still engaged in attempting to solve the mystery. There are very few games we are both able to enjoy together. I prefer world-building games, cute games, or sims-style games. Jimmy prefers killing things (Resident Evil being his fav) or playing football. We both enjoyed this game.

I can see why it was on sale for so cheap though…the graphics are just mediocre, it requires a LOT of thinking, it is HARD, requires patience,¬† and it actually requires you do some reading (and the vocab isn’t child’s play). I think it is definitely a game that adults would appreciate far more than children- unless you are lucky enough to have a nerdy bookworm for a child. So it doesn’t really fit with Wii’s general audience. Personally, I loved the fact it required creativity and critical thinking.

If you have already read the book, you can still play. First of all, the story is a bit different- particularly the ending. Not to mention, while you are trying to “solve” the murder there is no real benefit to figuring it out early. It’s like you are participating in the novel- the story will complete itself as intended. You can’t guess the killer correctly and end it in the 1st five minutes. However, it is fun to try and figure it out anyway. The game is more focused on gathering clues, interviewing people, and solving puzzles…as you complete the necessary actions, the game will progress.

I plan on getting the other Agatha Christie Wii game- Evil Under the Sun. And I’d recommend this game to anyone who likes mysteries, critical thinking, or puzzles….and has a lot of patience!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 21, 2009 3:25 pm

    I seem to be the only person who can’t manage to use a Wii remote. It never goes where I want to.
    Visiting from ICLW, but I see you’re doing NaBloPoMo too. Hooray!

    • opicana permalink
      November 22, 2009 9:32 pm

      It takes some getting used too! I still can’t get it to “steer” properly in any racing game. I tend to lose any game that I am playing against someone else. That is why this game was great- nothing was timed, no competition….just go at your own pace.

  2. November 22, 2009 8:27 am

    Cool, that sounds like fun… I might have to see if I can get a copy of that game. My Wife isn’t big on Wii games, I really want to find one we can play together. That sounds more reasonable the the $60 for the new Wii Mario Brothers… though I’ll probably get Mario for christmas.

  3. November 22, 2009 4:57 pm

    I love my Wii, too. I haven’t tried the Agatha Christie games (right now I am stuck on beating my husband at sword fighting on Wii Resort), but I think I might add this one to my list for the future!

    Here via ICLW

  4. November 22, 2009 9:13 pm

    That sounds like an interesting game – if I only had a Wii, I’d be looking out for it!

  5. November 23, 2009 10:54 am

    This sounds like my kind of game! I love mysteries, Agatha, and thinking. Bring it on! Stopping by from ICLW

  6. November 23, 2009 4:04 pm

    i don’t have a wii but this sounds really cool! I love the character based games, like Fable on the Xbox. not so much into big shoot em ups!

Leave a Reply

