Skip to content

Opi’s Chow Mein Noodle Casserole

September 28, 2009

Opi’s Chow Mein Noodle Casserole

(aka what we had for dinner tonight)

You can find versions of this dish all over the web. It’s a great and super simple recipe, so I love it. Here is my version…

Ingredients:

~1 lb of ground beef…or ground turkey…Actually, 1 lb is a bit much, but I’m lazy…

1 yellow onion

Garlic to taste (~5 cloves is what I used today)

Rice (I use long grain white)

2 cans sliced water chestnuts

bag of shredded carrots

sm. bag of slivered, or sliced, almonds

1-2 cans of cream of [fill in with your favorite] condensed soup…I like to mix it up…I choose 2 different flavors…mushroom and onion work well

Ground Ginger….amount?….I have no idea…I just sprinkle a bunch in…1 tsp? maybe?

Celery Salt….1 or 2 tsp….I like the flavor of celery, but not the consistency.

Soy Sauce…..several squirts? I think I used about 4 to 5 tbsp.

Chow Mein Noodles!

Note: Really, you can change out the types of ingredients and the amounts so easily. Take out what you don’t like, add what you do, change amounts to taste, etc…

Suggestions for things to add: Celery, Mushrooms, Scallions, Green Peppers, Pea Pods, Cooked Chicken, Cashews

If you have anymore suggestions, let me know!

Directions:

  1. Cook rice according to directions.
  2. Meanwhile, cook beef, onions and garlic over med. high heat. Sometimes, I toss in a tbsp. of butter.
  3. Preheat oven til 375.
  4. After the beef mixture and rice is cooked, take a big bowl and combine all the ingredients except for the chow mein noodles.
  5. Dump this into a large casserole dish.
  6. Sprinkle lots of chow mein noodles on top.
  7. Cook for 15-20 minutes…til the noodles start to turn golden.

The mixture will look disgusting….

000_0041

The chow mein noodles don’t improve it much…

000_0042

And when it comes out, it’ll look just like that, only golden.

But it’s pretty good.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

