Skip to content

MeMe Award

September 22, 2009

Tara awarded me the Meme Blog Award back in July: http://tarasg101.wordpress.com/2009/07/05/meme/

I’m honored she chose me, and it is the first blogging award that I have ever received. However, I didn’t complete what I needed to, to properly receive the award. You see, I was supposed to share 7 things about myself. Then award 7 of my readers with the award. I didn’t do this because I’m not sure I have 7 other readers with blogs. Since it is mainly my friends who read my posts- and even then, not too many.

So, if you read this post and have a blog, PLEASE leave a comment below, and then I will give you this award. It doesn’t matter who you are since you are one of the few people to read this darn thing, I’d like to know more about you whether you be friend or stranger. πŸ™‚

On to the 7 things that you may not know about me:

1. I’m very neurotic about my time. I make lots and lots of lists. Sure, a simple to do list may sound normal. But, I assure you that I take list-making to the next level. I almost *always* have a list of things to do. I break what I need to do down into categories and rotate between the categories. Practically everything is on the list from checking e-mail to getting out my outfit for the next day. I’m not a total pyschopath, I make exceptions for trips, vacations, and the like. Though, even in some of those cases lists may crop up here and there. I schedule breaks and fun time. For example, a typical weekend category list may look like: To Do List (a sub-list with more specific tasks that need to be done); Check E-mail; Do 1 Load of Laundry; Play Neverwinter. And I will rotate between those four, and the sub-list of “to do” will also rotate. It is difficult for me to do spontaneous activities. I will almost always decline a impromptu invite from a friend to go somewhere, I don’t know why.

2. Many of you may know that I am working on getting my master’s degree in Ecology, and some of you know that I working in a microbiology with bacteria…and something about air,Β  sludge and agriculture. But few of you (other than the folks in my dept.) probably know what I actually do everyday. I do DNA fingerprinting of the bacteria. So, I make a fingerprint gel just like you would see in any of the forensics shows…just bacterial DNA and not human.Β  πŸ™‚ Hey, I think its pretty cool.

3. I grew up on Cape Cod. The ocean is an extremely important aspect of Cape life, for obvious reasons (if you’ve never been there, it’s pretty much a giant beach). Despite this- or maybe because of it- I’m not a huge fan of the ocean. Actually, I have an interesting relationship with the ocean. I hate going to the beach…I burn easily, laying around doing nothing bores the crap out of me, I don’t like the feeling of sand in my food, or in my sandwiches. I don’t like swimming in the ocean…give me a pool, please…ocean water is sticky, seaweed is gross, and crabs are very scary. I don’t like seafood…any kind…I don’t eat fish or shellfish. I can’t stand the flavor or the smell. I’m scared of the ocean…I won’t go on boats…the water is way too deep and too many scary things live in the cold, dark water. However…When I was younger I wanted to be a marine biologist (until I discovered I was scared of the ocean). I love marine life, dolphins are one of my favorite animals. I volunteered and worked at the National Marine Life Center- a rehab. hospital for injured and stranded marine life. I’m passionate about the ocean’s well-being…pollution, over-fishing, etc…I love fish- as pets and to watch. Aquariums are one of my favorite things to visit. I’ve worked with freshwater fish…measuring them, cutting them open, analyzing their diet- and the smell doesn’t bother me then. I hate nautical themed decor…lighthhouses, sailboats…a very common theme in Cape homes, but I love fishermen. I love reading stories about fishing, fishing boats, being out on the ocean for days. Two of my favorite songs are “Downeaster Alexa” and “Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald”. My mind is a mystery.

4. Speaking of fish, I am a freshwater hobby aquarist (aka I like fish tanks). I have a 72g, a 46g and a 20g that are up in running plus a 10g and 3g. I would like to turn all of my fishtanks into biotopes, meaning I try to replicate a natural habitat as best I can…in terms of color, driftwood, rocks, substrate, plants, nutrients, fish species and invert species. I am still working on my 1st one. A SE Asian Biotope in the 46g bow. It has been sorely neglected though due to summer finances (particularly the sick kitty). I hope to start working on it again soon. It needs more fish!

5. I collect 3 things: postcards, giant microbes, and munchkin games. How many of you knew what all three of those were? LOL. Well, I’m sure everyone is familiar with postcards. I have a wall in my office dedicated to postcards. I have hundreds- I should really count them some day. I have them from all over the world…ones I bought, ones friends and family have sent to me, and ones I exchanged on Postcrossing. Giant Microbes you may be less familar with. They are giant stuffed microorganisms. I have Salmonella, Clostridium, E. Coli, S. aureus, and Ebola. I hope to continue expanding my collection. Munchkin is a game by Steve Jackson that pokes fun at RPGs. Orginally, it just poked fun at D&D, but they expanded it to include super heroes, vampires, ninjas, pirates and even the wild west. I have tons of expansion packs, and the collection is growing all the time. The game is hysterical, and wicked fun to play.

6. My dream house would be located in the interior of Maine (though both New Hampshire and Vermont would suffice). I love New England, cold weather, lakes, mountains, pine trees (esp. White Pine), moose and bears. I would love a log cabin with rustic decor…plaids, dark and warm colors, forest animals, lots of wood, etc… I will take a snowy retreat over a tropical destination any day. I love not having phone service. I love the small quaint shops and the quiet living.

7. I am a true “gamer”. I love all games…board games, card games, word games, computer games, console games, and roleplaying games. My favorite board game is the Game of Life. If I had money to waste, I would collect Life games. I have the normal game, plus a pirate one. I don’t see the benefit of continue to collect more since they are basically the same game (unlike Munchkin where adding more decks constantly improves the game); my favorite card game is Munchkin- if that counts….if not, then Uno…unless you are only counting normal cards, then hearts; my favorite word games are logic puzzles; my favorite computer games are The Sims 2 & 3, Civilization and Tropico; my favorite console game is Mario Party; and my favorite RPG is D&D, Eberron Setting. Oh, and I also love the arcade style games…like the facebook games…my favorite one is Restaurant City.

100_1783100_1015

Some giant microbes.

A very outdated photo of my postcard wall, I will have to take a new one soon.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. taraSG permalink
    September 22, 2009 7:25 pm

    2. I think it’s interesting!!

    5. I have the Rhinovirus Giant Microbe πŸ™‚

  2. Tracy permalink
    October 3, 2009 5:02 am

    Giant stuffed microbes? LOL! I want Campylobacter jejuni then.
    It’s super cool that u DNA type bacteria!
    hmmmm, DZP is intriguing. Will check it out and maybe start my own list.

    • opicana permalink
      October 3, 2009 12:36 pm

      Aren’t they neat! I hope to keep expanding my collection!

      If you start one, let me know! Especially if you blog it! Feel free to steal any of my goals that you like. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

