Skip to content

Shall We Dance?

September 11, 2009

You know what is beautiful? Classic movies.

Today’s “beautiful” in honor of the NaBloPoMo theme is also going to my main blog post….cause, well, it’s already 10pm and I really don’t have anything else to talk about. :p

I grew up watching a lot of classic movies, particularly musicals. Jimmy isn’t a particular fan of either genre, but he really doesn’t like musicals, so I haven’t seen any in ages. I have had a hankerin’ to watch some recently, but my collection is limited (I only own one- Royal Wedding).

There is just something so magical about some of those older movies. Perhaps it is just because I loved them so much as a little kid, that they are “comfort movies” to me. Or perhaps because I love happy endings, and so many of them were feel good flicks…who knows.

One of my favorites is “Shall We Dance”…http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jdH2ODFYV5s with the infamous potato/tomato business. I adore Fred & Ginger.

And who doesn’t love “Singin’ in the Rain”? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p3YWWfnWBJM

But there doesn’t have to be singing involved, The Bishop’s Wife is one of my all time favorite Christmas movies: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vJ3tkyzyDUg&feature=PlayList&p=B3442A0E35C988AC&index=2

There are 44 movies in IMDB’s Top 250 movies list that were filmed BEFORE 1950. Considering how many movies were produce now, the limited technology they had back then, and that this list is voted on by the public- not some movie critics (and we tend to live in the “now” with our short attention spans), I think 44 is a fairly impressive number.

What is your favorite classic movie?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

