Skip to content

You Want to be on Top?

September 9, 2009

Today’s Beauty: America’s Next Top Model (Spoilers ahead)

Getting ready to blog a bit about the NaBloPoMo theme, “beautiful”, I began to do my usual thing- starting searching in various places online (google, imdb, wikipedia, etc…) for “beauty” or “beautiful”. Then, it hit me how applicable the current content of my TV screen is- I’m watching America’s Next Top Model. Granted, this is a narrow view of beauty, but still applicable nonetheless because all of these girls are beautiful- some more than others.

I’m pleased that cycle 13 (my favorite number) is for short people. I’m only 5’4″ which is shorter than most of these girls.

I’m rooting for: Rae- her face looks so familiar, Jennifer- beautiful, Courtney- personality, Rachel- omg, those eyes, Laura- the accent is ADORABLE.

I don’t think Kara is pretty at all. Nicole is….strange…I don’t mind weird, I usually root for the weird chicks, but um…wow. Amber was another wow…glad she had to leave. I’m not a fan of Bianca’s attitude.

SPOILER: Lisa is the 1st to go. I’m fine with that, she isn’t very interesting.

I wasn’t planning to watch ANTM this season- I have enough shows to fit into my busy schedule, but I was tired today (I got less than 3 hours sleep last night) and unmotivated to pursue other activities. Jimmy isn’t around. And it was the season premiere- meaning I didn’t miss anything…so I am sucked into another season.

I don’t understand what compels me to watch the show. I’m not into fasion or beauty. I don’t shop for clothes very often- some of my garments are over 10 years old. I pretty much only wear tees, jeans, hoodies and dorm pants. I don’t wear ANY makeup- except for the occasional lip gloss. And I don’t really give a hoot about my physical appearance- I just want to be healthy, after that, whatever. But, still I am compelled to watch this show. The only other reality TV show I watch is Hell’s Kitchen, and I know why I watch that. I like food, cooking, and Ramsey is a hoot to watch (I also like Simon from AI, Dr. House, Dr. Lightman (Lie to Me) and Severus Snape- notice a trend?). ANTM is a mysterious.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. taraSG permalink
    September 10, 2009 2:10 pm

    My sister and I were talking about this recently. Both of us will get sucked into a marathon and watch this all day (even if we’ve already watched that season). I think it’s mindless fun. My sister thinks that part of it is because the girls don’t really seem that pretty, but get them in front of a camera and they take nice pictures. It makes us feel prettier somehow 🙂

  2. opicana permalink
    September 10, 2009 2:35 pm

    I think you are on to something there, with the “don’t seem that pretty…in front of a camera” business. It’s very true. I am often amazed at how nice their photos look!

Leave a Reply

