Skip to content

Baked Potatoes are Delicious

September 6, 2009

What is the cheapest way to feed myself for a week? Buy a bag of potatoes.

Friday evening, like all Friday evenings, I went grocery shopping. Unlike usual, however, I was shopping for just me. Jimmy is off looking at the stars in the southern hemisphere. The centerpieces of my meals this week are a bag of russet potatoes and a container of baby spinach.

Sure, I bought some other odds and ends, but spinach salads and baked potatoes will be the core of my meals this week. I can easily eat just a salad, just baked potatoes, or a combination of both for dinner.

Tonight, I made some delicious baked potatoes. I washed them, poked them with a fork, rubbed them in olive oil, then lightly covered them with “Himilayan Gourmet Salt” (its supposed to be good for you), and baked them for an hour @ 350. Perfect! Crispy delicious skins, and a flaky, heavenly inside.

I topped with crumbled bacon, sour cream and chive. YUM!! They were fabulous.

I am going to cook them again for dinner tomorrow night, but I am thinking about having a different set of toppings. What would you recommend? What are your favorite toppings for a baked potato?

I hope I get some response to this post, unlike my unfortunate craft question, that got nothing. 😦

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 7, 2009 4:41 pm

    You can’t beat a bit of grated cheese on a baked potato, I like cheddar best. It’s a little plain but it’s real comfort food 🙂

    If you want an easy craft thing to do you might want to try cross-stitch. It’s a good way to get a bit of practice at sewing. You can get beginners sets of patterns and thread for bookmarks and little decorative things like that in craft shops.

    Also I just wanted to say I really liked Brady the Mooch. I haven’t seen a Sims 3 challenge like that before and it was really interesting to read.

    • opicana permalink
      September 8, 2009 1:41 pm

      Thanks! I’ve never tried cross-stitching before, and I would really like to improve my sewing. I will look into that!!

      Thanks! I liked Brady too. He isn’t over yet. As soon as I find more time to play, I will update the blog again. 🙂

      • Erica permalink
        September 10, 2009 10:25 am

        I’ve done cross-stitch from time to time, it’s a good choice. It’s simple to learn, and there’s a lot of fairly inexpensive kits out there. I’ve gone so far as to buy a book of alphabet patterns and make my own design, but I’ve almost never finished a project. I usually get bored and lose interest. But I suspect you’re generally better about that sort of thing than I am.

      • opicana permalink
        September 10, 2009 11:23 am

        Thanks! Cross-stitching is sounding more and more appealing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

