Skip to content

Where to start?

September 1, 2009

One of my DZP projects (see 101 things in 1001 days list above) is to have a “handmade Christmas”. If possilble, I’d like to do it this year. That means I need to start now…well, months ago probably.

I’m fairly crafty…at least every craft kit or book I have tried has come out well. However, I haven’t tried all that much. There are plenty of basic craft skills (sewing, for example) that I have no clue how to do. I am happy to learn, but I need to start easy & simple so I can gain the basic skills.

I’m looking for suggestions on projects that are:

– Easy/For Beginners

– Would make nice gifts to friends/family

– I could start now (so no cookies/candy, etc…)

– Are fairly cheap

Okay…ready?…go…. 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2009 9:31 am

    Ok – I feel bad because I didn’t leave any suggestions 🙂

    1. Melt and Pour soap – can be super beautiful, doesn’t require a ton of equipment. Check out http://soap-queen.blogspot.com/ to start – she does cold process too (what I do) but she does a ton of M&P as well.
    2. Hand stamped notecards – these can be awesome and you can really personalize them. Start with plain notecards, stamp away, present in pretty bows/wrappings. Lovely, and appropriate for you to encourage people to write since I know you do the whole penpal thing. FYI – heat embossing with stamps looks really cool, but is a giant pain in the ass. However, if you want to try it, I have a heat gun, so you can borrow mine so you don’t have to buy one. Also, I may be biased as I did this in the week before my wedding. I was stressed.
    3. Also wonderful – Cookie mixes in pretty jars. Take your favorite cookie recipe, put all the dry ingredients in a big mason jar (i.e. flour,sugar, baking soda, salt, chocolate chips, etc.) pretty fabric on the lid, ribbon around the top, and attach a cute tag with the recipe. Faboo gift.
    So those are my ideas.

    • opicana permalink
      September 10, 2009 11:18 am

      Wow! Thanks for all the ideas! I was definitely going to try making soap, after we talked about it the other day. I found a blog online that had this really cute idea. I don’t know how well it will work. They had a recipe for soap, then they made it blue, and added a plastic fish in the middle, they let the soap set in polybags, so it ended up looking like a fish in a bag (like you take home from the pet store). Um…how appropriate for moi?

  2. September 10, 2009 9:36 am

    Also – these blankets are super easy and cozy – make them big enough for adults! Fleece is always going on sale, and you can find cute prints.
    http://hubpages.com/hub/How-to-Make-a-Blanket
    No Sewing! All you need is a pair of scissors and your hands! 🙂

    • opicana permalink
      September 10, 2009 11:22 am

      That is my kind of craft! How easy, but they look adorable. I will have to try one. And a fleece blanket is perfect for winter. 🙂 Thanks!

Leave a Reply

