Skip to content

And now for something completely different…

August 26, 2009

According one of my recent posts, I should be talking about “books” this evening…what I have read recently, what I have purchased recently, etc… But, while gathering up my magnetic poetry downstairs to bring into my office tomorrow (for the filing cabinet), I was reminded of a topic I’ve wanted to rant about for quite sometime.

In the words of Peter Griffin…”you know what really grinds my gears?”- when someone is in a relationship that completely changes who they are. Just off the top of my head I can think of FOUR cases of CLOSE friends who have changed due to a new romantic relationship. In all four cases, the person is no where near as awesome as they used to be. In one case, I am no longer even friends with the person (her choice). In all of the cases, the person has changed signficantly for the worst. Other friends and family have noticed the changes as well in all cases (some being fairly obvious).

And you know what sucks even more? I am not convinced that they are happy in their relationship. In one case, I know they are unhappy. I highly suspect that in some of the other cases they are just “settling”. All of them deserve better than what they are getting. I’m not nearly as close to any of these people as I used to be (despite my efforts to remain close), and it makes me so sad. If they were truly happy, and they could be happy crapbags together, then I would bless each relationship…but I just don’t see it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

