Skip to content

#92- Get My Aerogarden Up & Running Again: COMPLETED!

January 19, 2009

100_1803

Woohoo! I can finally cross a task off my list! I have successfully gotten my Aerogarden back up and running.

100_1797

Step #1 was to get it all cleaned up. It was very dust from sitting on the kitchen table unused for so long, so I had to clean  off the stand and check to make sure it still worked.

100_1798

Apparently, last time I forgot to clean out the inside…so it was fill of nasty dried roots from the previous round of plants.

100_1799

Next, I dried everything off and started piecing it back together.

100_1800

Then I had to choose my plants. I had 1 unopened salad kit, as well as a salad kit w/ four pieces. I chose to use the already opened kits…and selected 4 Salad Green, two tomatoes and an Italian Basil. It’s a bit trickier to grow multiple kinds of plants…but we did it somewhat successfully before.

100_1801

Here is the Aerogarden all resembled….If the stand looks shorter…it is! The light raises and lowers so you can adjust it for the size of the plants. Since I am starting new seeds- I lowered the light.

100_1802

Here is the final arrangement….now I just have to wait for them to grow!

100_1804

As part of this task, I intended to also use up the other kits that were laying on the Aerogarden…this included a mini sunflower garden (pictured above). The  I needed to put the soil disk in water for 24 hours…which is what you see here.

100_1805

Ther other kit was to grow indoor crocuses. You have to start them in a dark, cool place. So, I chose underneath my sink.

I will post updates w/ pictures as all the plants continue to grow, but for now…

92.) Get my Aerogarden running again

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2009 3:10 pm

    I so need to get mine going again too! Seeing yours really makes me want to get mine out again…I think I want to do greens next time…do they work pretty well?

    • opicana permalink
      January 21, 2009 3:26 pm

      Yes, last time I grew the greens, they grew very well and very quickly.

  2. January 11, 2010 3:38 pm

    So glad I ran in to this post. I too have an Aerogarden and hope to get it out in the next day or so. It has been sitting unopened since I ordered. I hope the items are still good.

Leave a Reply

