Skip to content

Lunch Saved!

December 23, 2008
tags:

Jimmy & I stick to a $50 a week grocery budget. This week, we didn’t have enough to get me some lunch food. Jimmy & I both take lunch. He likes sandwiches, so he is easy…baloney, pbj, etc… I’m not a fan of normal sandwiches…I have to be in the right mood for them, or they have to have something interesting…like an interesting cheese, sauce, etc… Typically, I have leftovers, chips & salsa, cottage cheese & crackers, salad, or my feta pocket (feta, olive oil, oregano, black olives, tomatoes, red onion, and spinach).

Last night, I was completely out of lunch food….no lettuce, no spinach, no cottage cheese, etc…I had planned on settling for a turkey sandwich with some red onion and spicy mustard. But cheese is a requirement on any such sandwich and we were out of everything except taco cheese and feta (both would have tasted silly, and been messy to eat). So, I was trying to come up with a creative lunch I idea.

Jimmy said in a joking fashion, well…”we have cream cheese”. Little did he know that that would give me a solution. I mixed up some cream cheese, a bit of sour cream, a dash of milk (to increase spreadablity), black olives, and a couple heaping spoonfuls of this pesto mix I had in the fridge. Viola! A nice black olive & pesto cream cheese spread. I just had it a few hours ago, and it was delicious. 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

